☰ Menu

Chamber Music Festival

Alan Rafferty, Artistic Director & Cello Faculty

Alan Rafferty, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music cello faculty member, is rapidly gaining recognition as a preeminent musician and master teacher.  In demand as a clinician around the world,

Sarah Kim, Executive Director & Cello Faculty

Miami University Assistant Professor of Cello, Dr. Sarah Kim, leads a vibrant and diverse career as performer, educator, and arts administrator.

Danielle Belen, Violin

Associate Professor of violin at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance in Ann Arbor, Danielle Belen is already making a name for herself as a seasoned pedagogue with a strong studio of young artists.

I-Hao Lee, Violin

Violinist I-Hao Lee’s active teaching career has culminated in notable achievements by his students – top prizes at the Queen Elisabeth, Young Concert Artists, Sarasate, Sion-Valais(Tibor Varga), Cooper, Postacchini International Competitions, an Avery Fisher Career Grant,

Marion Peraza de Webb, Violin

Marion Peraza de Webb won the Miami University Concerto Competition in 1998 and was awarded the Battel Stoeckel Trust Award at Yale University the same year.

Kurt Sassmannshaus, Violin

Kurt Sassmannshaus, violinist, teacher, and conductor, is considered one of today’s preeminent violin pedagogues. Chairman of the String Department at CCM since 1984, he was recently appointed to the school’s distinguished Dorothy Richard Starling Chair for Classical Violin, a position previously held by the late Dorothy Delay.

Janet Sung, Violin

Violinist Janet Sung enjoys an acclaimed international career as a virtuoso soloist, recognized for her intense, exhilarating performances, and by her signature lustrous, burnished tone. Hailed by The Washington Post for her riveting playing and exquisite tone, her playing possesses the rare blend of fierce intelligence, subtlety and brilliant virtuosity.

Masumi Per Rostad, viola

Praised for his “burnished sound” (The New York Times) and described as an “electrifying, poetic, and sensitive musician,” the Grammy Award-winning, Japanese-Norwegian violist Masumi Per Rostad hails from the gritty East Village of 1980s New York.

Deborah Barrett Price, Viola

Deborah Barrett Price serves on the faculty of Denison University teaching viola, violin and chamber music and is a Yamaha Certified String Educator Clinician. In recognition of her work as the Founder and Artistic Director of CMC, Debbie received the Baldwin Wallace Conservatory 2013 Alumni Achievement Award and was named the Columbus Symphony Orchestra Community Educator of the Year (2004)

Alex Klein, Oboe (on leave 2020)

Recognized as one of the world’s leading oboists, Grammy-award winner Alex Klein began his professional career at age 11 in his native Brazil.

Aaron Pergram, bassoon

Aaron Pergram joined the faculty at Miami University as Assistant Professor of
Bassoon in 2019. Before coming to Oxford, he served on faculty for five years at
Soochow University in Suzhou, China.

Altius Quartet, Quartet-in-Residence

Currently based in Boulder, CO the Altius Quartet is determined to further the art of chamber music through performance, education, and outreach.

Chris Robinson, Associate Faculty- Violin

Born in Louisville, Kentucky, Christopher Robinson is a first-year Violin Fellow in the New World Symphony.

Erin Patterson, Associate Faculty- Cello

Currently based in Montreal, QC, cellist Erin Patterson is pursuing her Master’s Degree in in Cello Performance at McGill University’s Schulich School of Music under the tutelage of Matt Haimovitz.

Jacob Miller, Associate Faculty- Collaborative Piano

Jacob Miller is a native of Delaware, Ohio and a Midwestern enthusiast. When he was fourteen he began attending Interlochen Arts Academy, where he studied with T. J. Lymenstull. During the summers he performed around the Chicago area with his aunt Nancy Miller, who plays violin, as the Tanefe duo.