☰ Menu

Mozart’s Grande Sextet

Thursday June 6th, 7:00 pm
Werner Recital Hall
University of Cincinnati, College- Conservatory of Music

This program opens with a performance of Color Through by Jennifer Higdon featuring our Associate Faculty Piano Trio.  These brilliant young artists are at the beginning of their career and bring incredible energy to the stage. To close out the first half, we present the Shostakovich Two Pieces for String Octet. Op. 11. Fittingly, these pieces were written when Shostakovich was a student and showcase an abundance of technical fireworks for the performers.  Already, Shostakovich’s satirical nature comes through in this work.  To close this program, we present the rarely performed Grande Sextet version of Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante originally for solo violin and viola with orchestra.  The piece was arranged in Mozart’s time anonymously and brought back to life in 1980.

Performers- Sarah Kim, Alan RaffertyJanet Sung, Amy Schwartz Moretti, Marion Peraza de Webb, Chris Robinson, Roger MyersRictor Noren, Erin Patterson, Jacob Miller

All Cincinnati Young Artists Chamber Music Festival Concerts are free and open to the public this year thanks to our generous donors.